Home

John Amunét is without a doubt one of the most promising up-and-coming bicycle photographers. To cut a long story short, let his showcase do the talking — followed by a few words by the Helsinki-based man himself.

1

2
4
5
3
6
7
9
8
10
11
13
14
12
15
16
17
20
18
22
23
21
24
25
26
28
27
30
29
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
42
40
41
43
44
45
46
48
49
47
50
52
51
54
53
56
57
55
58
59
60
61

62

Copyright 2011, all rights reserved.

 

John talks:

”So how did I get into this? The answer to that is long and hard. Unlike many other photographers I wasn’t born with a camera in my hand or a bike underneath me but what happened was a slow, hard and addictive road to finding myself with that camera in my hands and those two wheels beneath me.

I’d be what people call a self-taught photographer. That is I’ve never spent a dime on education, or an hour in class. But I’ve paid my dues too many times to count, and spent years perfecting a craft I have passion for.

I wouldn’t actually even call myself a photographer these days but rather a digital artist since about 40% of a final piece is actually done in front of a screen after I’ve taken the picture with painstaking attention to lighting and detail. I love natural light combined with studio lighting on location.

Bikes and photography came natural for me. My dad said I learned to ride a bicycle without training wheels before I learned to run properly, sometimes I do doubt his truthfulness though ;)

Ever since when I first learned that I could ride that bike out from the yard to a great escape into the world and command my own adventure and look at the world, the two wheeled vehicle has stayed with me.

I still ride a bike out of that gate, whether that gate that’s keeping me back is work, life, relationships, the worries of the world, my bike takes me past those things to a journey that will only be limited by the strength of my legs and my thirst for adventure.

My need to see the world in its various shapes and forms be it good or bad hasn’t diminished either. Inside I’m still that boy pedaling out the gate to see the world, these days I just capture those moments in time so I can share them with others.

So how did I get into this? Well I just guess I never stopped looking.”

To commission John for work, please contact:
ineverstoppedlooking(youknowwhat)gmail.com

 

Check out more of his work:

ineverstoppedlooking.tumblr.com

 

Leave a Reply

