Home

1
2
3
4
5
6

 

For years I was running three to four different bicycles for variety of uses. Last autumn I decided to stop the madness. I embarked on a somewhat peculiar journey, in quest to find one bicycle to suit all my needs: daily commuting, intense city riding, long road trips, as well as the occasional cross country ride on gravel.

Having run single speed and fixed gear bicycles for nearly twenty years, I’d grown familiar and rather fond of the look and feel of the track bike. But instead of going for the rational choice: a Surly Steamroller or On-One Pompino, I was out for something else, something a bit more mad and exciting. Steering clear of logic and reason, as usual, I took a shot at several European framebuilders, asking a lot of stupid questions. The responses I got varied between surprised to claims of mere madness.

I looked around and examined many different measurement charts, prices and options before taking my pick. After careful consideration my unlikely choice was Dodici Gara. With it’s gentler angles and more relaxed geometry it has proved to be a surprisingly versatile choice: running this bicycle with two stem lengths and a choice of three handlebar configurations, I’ve managed to fulfil my various cycling needs. Adding a track fork alongside the not-so-obvious road one I’m managing to add even more versatility to the setup. Works in the city, on the road, for commuting and off the beaten track. Surprised? Yes. Mad? You bet! Haters gonna hate…

Dodici Gara 2011

Frame: Dodici Gara 2011 51cm (ST: 55,5 c-t / TT: 54,5 c-c)
Forks: Deda Black Magic road & Alpina track
Wheels: H+Son Formation Face & SL42/Soma Somax
Headset: Chris King NoThreadset
Stem: Thomson Elite X2 70 mm & Thomson Elite 100 mm
Handlebars: Cinelli Pepper & Deda SFIDA & Profile Airwing 
Seatpost: Thomson Elite Inline
Saddle: Selle San Marco Zoncolan
Chainset: Sugino Messenger (46t)
Pedals: MKS GR-9/BLB double cages/Cadence straps
BB: Sugino CBB-103
Cog: Surly (18t)
Chain: SRAM PC-1
Brakes: SRAM Apex/Tektro RL721
Tyres: Continental Grand Prix 4season/Continental Gatorskin

 

 

Leave a Reply

